Do Not Disturb helps you silence notifications from overactive Snapchat users without notifying them.

By Liz Steelman
February 07, 2018
Thomas Trutschel/Getty Images

Hate waking up to a phone filled with what seems like a million Snapchat notifications, all from that one friend who loves to document every trivial part of their day? Well, kiss starting your day slightly annoyed goodbye because Snapchat’s newest feature lets you mute your friends without starting any drama.

RELATED: This Dad’s Brilliant New App Locks Your Teenager’s Phone Until They Text You Back

A few weeks ago, Snapchat sneakily released a new feature—Do Not Disturb—allowing users to turn off notifications from specific one-on-one and group chats. You’ll still get their Snaps in real time; you just won’t be alerted to it until you choose to check the app. The best part? When you hit snooze on a friend or a group, it doesn’t send them an alert, meaning that even if you find your friend’s snap habit slightly irritating, you don’t need to confront them about it.

RELATED: Does Your Teen Have a Phone Addiction?

To turn of notifications for a friend, just enter a chat on the Friends screen. Then, tap the menu in the upper left-corner and toggle the switch next to “Do Not Disturb.” To make sure that the change took, just see if the snoring emoji (the one with the three Z’s) appear next to their name in the Chat menu. You can turn off at any time.

And there you have it: An easy way to set boundaries without having to disturb the piece in real life! (If only it were so easy for other, non-app related situations…) Dealing with an oversharer without the option of a snooze button? Here, 3 expert tips on how to handle someone with a case of TMI.

You May Like