7 New Thrillers to Read Right Now

Add these to your winter reading list.

This fall brought several great new thrillers, including a debut from a famous actress and others that touch on especially timely issues of race and class. These seven recent releases will be great for the dark, chilly nights to come this winter.

1

Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke

bluebird-bluebird-locke
Photo by Hachette Book Group

In a small, raciallysegregated Texas town, two bodies are found in the Attoyac Bayou—one of a black lawyer from Chicago and the other of a young white woman who works as a waitress in town. Ranger Darren Mathews, whose very presence as a black man rankles local residents (not to mention the town’s members of the Aryan Brotherhood), must navigate the town’s complex racial dynamics and figure out who killed these two people. Locke, who has a few crime thrillers under her belt (Pleasantville, The Cutting Season) and was a writer and producer for FOX’s “Empire,” writes with phenomenal pacing that makes this book unputdownable. To buy: $17; amazon.com.


2

Bonfire, by Krysten Ritter

bonfire-krystin-ritter
Photo by amazon.com

Actress Krysten Ritter is best known for her role as Jessica Jones in the Marvel series of the same name, but fans will be introduced to a new side of her as a writer. In her debut novel, Ritter introduces readers to Abby Williams, a woman who spent a decade trying to forget her past by building a new one as an environmental lawyer in Chicago. But when a case brings her back to the town she left behind, she unearths secrets that she never could have imagined. Full of unexpected twists and turns, this gritty thriller is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.


3

The Last Mrs. Parrish: A Novel, by Liv Constantine

last-mrs-parrish-cconstantine
Photo by amazon.com

This haunting psychological thriller is a debut from sisters Lynne Constantine and Valerie Constantine. Amber Patterson envies the rich people she lives near and sets out to befriend real-estate mogul Jackson Parrish and his socialite wife, Daphne. Throughout this engrossing story, Amber tries to replace Daphne and become the woman she always wished to be, while hiding the skeletons in her own closet.  

To buy: $13; amazon.com.



4

The Missing, by C.L. Taylor

the-missing-taylor
Photo by HarperCollins

Claire Wilkinson's teenage son Billy is missing, but she is convinced that he is still alive. Like her husband and other children, Claire grapples with her own guilt for his disappearance, but doesn't really believe anyone in her family is to blame. That is, until secrets start to unravel that make Claire—an unreliable narrator herself—question her own instincts.

To buy: $10; amazon.com.


5

Poison, by Galt Niederhoffer

poison-galt-niederhoffer
Photo by Macmillan

Cass Connor appears to have a picture-perfect life. Though she lost her first husband, she has remarried and had another child with Ryan, and together, they all live in a big Victorian house with her two other children. But Cass begins to suspect her husband is cheating on her, and then starts noticing some alarming, manipulative tendencies. When she begins to feel inexplicably sick all the time, she wonders if Ryan is actually poisoning her—and then if it could be someone else entirely. Niederhoffer's thriller is gripping until the end.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.


6

The Other Girl, by Erica Spindler

other-girl-spindler
Photo by Macmillan

Miranda Rader is called to investigate the brutal murder of a beloved English professor in the small Louisiana where she works as a police officer. At the scene, she notices a faded newspaper clipping about when a friend of her brother's tried to rape her. As Miranda investigates the death of the professor, another body is found: the police officer who had taken her statement after the attempted assault. Suddenly Miranda is at the center of these two seemingly-unrelated murders—and fears she might be set up.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.



7

Good Me, Bad Me, by Ali Land

good-me-land
Photo by Macmillan

Fifteen-year-old Milly was raised by a serial killer. After killing nine children, her mother is taken into police custody, while Milly goes to live with a foster family, keeping secret that fact that she helped her mother carry out those murders. Milly's new family is less welcoming than she hoped and her foster parents' daughter quickly becomes her bully at school, all while Milly is preparing for her mother's trial and keeping her dark urges in check. This explosive, at times disturbing book is a captivating read, but is not for the faint-hearted.

To buy: $15; amazon.com.