If you've read and re-read L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables and are looking for more books that touch on friendship, imagination, and family, try one of these seven novels.

Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
Advertisement
Perhaps Canada's most loved fictional character, adventurous orphan Anne Shirley of Green Gables, still enchants and inspires today. Lucy Maud Montgomery may have written her novel in 1908 but there are Anne-related attractions all around Prince Edward Island today including Green Gables Heritage Place and Avonlea Village, a recreation of the fictitious village from the book.RELATED: There’s an Abandoned Anne of Green Gables Theme Park in Japan
Prince Edward Island Department of Tourism

Ever since Anne (with an “E”) arrived in Avonlea, she’s stolen the hearts of readers everywhere. Whether she was dying her hair green, getting her friend drunk on raspberry cordial, or pining over those elusive puffed sleeves, we couldn’t get enough of her adventures in Anne of Green Gables. So if you’ve already read all about Anne, pick up one of these books seven books that are perfect for fans of Anne of Green Gables.

Amazon

1
My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante

My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante
Anne Shirley is always looking for “kindred spirits,” or friends who truly understand her. Elena Ferrante’s modern masterpiece, My Brilliant Friend, follows two young, perceptive girls growing up in a violent neighborhood. Their fierce bond pushes each of them to study harder and act bolder—even standing up to a crime syndicate to try and retrieve their lost dolls. But as they grow across the first book in this four-part series, the two young women soon find themselves on divergent paths, and their burgeoning adulthood will test the strength of their love for each other.

To buy: $11, amazon.com.

Penguin Random House

2
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer

Guernsey is a tiny island off the coast of England, the only British soil to be occupied by Germany during WWII. It’s during this occupation that the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is born. At first it’s just a flimsy alibi for when the people of Guernsey are caught breaking curfew by the Germans, but soon, the society evolves into a lifeline for a small, rural community living under Nazi rule. Written as a series of letters, this is a heartwarming novel that celebrates storytelling in all its forms.

To buy: $10, amazon.com.

Amazon

3
Akata Witch, by Nnedi Okorafor

Akata Witch, by Nnedi Okorafor
The magic and secret realms in Anne of Green Gables are mostly in Anne’s mind. But in Akata Witch, magic is all too real, especially for 12-year-old Sunny. Born in New York and now living in Nigeria, Sunny is a little bit lost. She’s teased for being American and for being albino, and she’s highly sensitive to the sun. She just wants to play sports like any other kid, but it’s only when she befriends a gang of misfits that she discovers the hidden world of the Leopard People, where all her “defects” become her greatest strengths.

To buy: $10, amazon.com.

Penguin Random House

4
Emily of New Moon, by L.M. Montgomery

Yes, L.M. Montgomery actually wrote books outside of the Anne of Green Gables series. Emily of New Moon is the story of newly orphaned Emily Starr, who’s sent to stay with her mother’s stern relatives on New Moon Farm. Emily is sure she’ll hate it. As she meets more of her new classmates and neighbors, however, Emily begins to find herself warming up to the people of New Moon. Through her friendship with Ilse, a ferociously angry tomboy, she might even learn to enjoy life in her new country home. Emily is a bit more serious than Anne, but she’s an equally worthy heroine for fans of L.M. Montgomery. You might even say she’s an introvert’s literary heroine.

To buy: $16, amazon.com.

RELATED: Why Anne of Green Gables Wasn’t My Literary Heroine After All

Amazon

5
The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend, by Katarina Bivald

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend, by Katarina Bivald
Sara has traveled all the way from Sweden to the town of Broken Wheel, Iowa, in order to meet her pen pal, Amy. Unfortunately, Sara arrives just as Amy’s funeral is letting out. Grieving, confused, and stuck in a tiny farming town, Sara decides that the only course of action is to open up a bookshop in memory of her friend. The people of Broken Wheel aren’t quite sure what to make of this bookish stranger in their midst, but much like our favorite red-headed orphan, Sara’s ability to find joy everywhere she goes begins to work its magic on the town and everyone in it.

To buy: $10, amazon.com.

Penguin Random House

6
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley

Eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce is an aspiring chemist. She’s especially gifted with poisons. So when she discovers a dead bird and then a dead man at her family’s decaying mansion home, she’s horrified—and a little excited. The time has come for Flavia to put her scientific reasoning to the test and solve the case. At first it’s all one big science project, but when her father is seized and arrested for murder, Flavia may be the only one who can prove him innocent.
To buy: $12, amazon.com.

HarperCollins

7
The Secret Garden, by Frances Hodgson Burnett

This book is almost as much of a must-read classic as Anne of Green Gables, even though Mary Lennox might be the exact opposite of Anne Shirley. She’s an orphan, true, but she’s angry and nasty and not at all excited to be living somewhere new. She’s been shipped off to her uncle’s vast mansion, where she wanders abandoned rooms and hears distant crying at night. It’s only once Mary finds a walled up garden, locked tight with a missing key, that she begins to unravel the secrets of this house, and finds a slim chance of bringing it back to life.

To buy: $4, amazon.com.