How many of them have you read?

By Katie Holdefehr
Updated December 19, 2017
Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
Advertisement
Tim Robberts/Getty Images

Barnes & Noble recently released their list of bestselling fiction, nonfiction, kid, and teen titles for 2017, and after browsing the titles, there are more than a few we’re adding to our 2018 reading list. From newly released titles, to classic dystopian novels, to the horror novel of the year, this list of top hits offers something for every type of reader. Check out the full list, below, then read why the top five have people buzzing.

1. Milk and Honey, Rupi Kaur

2. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood

3. The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware

4.1984, George Orwell

5. Origin, Dan Brown

6. A Man Called Ove, Fredrik Backman

7. Camino Island, John Grisham

9. It: A Novel, Stephen King

10. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee

Barnes & Noble

While this collection of poems and illustrations by Rupi Kaur, a 25-year-old Punjabi-Canadian poet, was actually published in 2014, it has seen a spike in popularity over the past year, landing at the top of Barnes & Noble’s bestsellers list. Take it from her nearly two million Instagram fans, Kaur’s work dealing with love, loss, trauma, and healing is enthralling. If you like Milk and Honey, you can order Kaur’s latest collection, The Sun and Her Flowers.

To buy: $9; barnesandnoble.com.

Barnes & Noble

With Hulu’s launch of its new television version of this classic 1985 dystopian novel by Canadian author Margaret Atwood, the book saw a resurgence in popularity. The novel follows the day-to-day life of Offred, a woman living in a totalitarian, Christian theonomy in New England, after the U.S. government is overthrown.

To buy: $11; barnesandnoble.com.

Barnes & Noble

If thrillers are more your style, this mystery novel by the British novelist Ruth Ware is what you’re looking for. Set on a luxury cruise ship, the voyage goes awry when Lo Blacklock, a journalist working for a travel magazine, witnesses a woman being thrown overboard. This read will have the hairs on the back of your neck tingling.

To buy: $10; barnesandnoble.com.

Barnes & Noble

During a politically tense year, it’s no surprise this classic novel has seen a resurgence in popularity. The story follows Winston Smith, who’s tasked with rewriting history according to the Ministry of Truth. Although written in 1948, this novel continues to serve as a powerful warning to readers today.

To buy: $10; barnesandnoble.com.

Barnes & Noble

For fans of The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, Dan Brown’s character Professor Robert Langdon is back to solve the mysteries of the universe and human existence. The novel explores the complex connection between science and religion, with conspiracy woven throughout.

To buy: $18; barnesandnoble.com.