The Best New Books to Read This Month

Whether you’re looking for a captivating novel, a fascinating investigation, or a poignant memoir, December has something for everyone. Here are 10 new releases that caught our eye this month.

1

The Three Daughters of Eve, by Elif Shafak

three-daughters-of-eve
Photo by Amazon.com

From bestselling Turkish author Elif Shafak comes a new novel about Peri, a Turkish woman living in present-day Istanbul. In this city threatened by terrorist attacks and torn between the East and the West, Peri finds herself revisiting her experience at Oxford University years before, where she shared a close friendship with Shirin, an Iranian girl, Mona, an Egyptian-American, and their controversial divinity professor. Both beautiful and provocative, this novel perfectly captures the tension between the past and the future.

To buy: $18; amazon.com.
Available December 5.


2

The Last Black Unicorn, by Tiffany Haddish

last-black-unicorn
Photo by Amazon.com

Get to know the breakout star of the 2017 movie Girls Trip in this hilarious collection of essays. Growing up in one of the poorest parts of South Central Los Angeles, Haddish used humor to navigate her difficult upbringing. Between tales of her time as the school mascot and stories from her stint as a Bar Mitzvah hype woman, readers will love discovering how Tiffany turned her passion for comedy into a full-time career.

To buy: $18; amazon.com.
Available December 5.


3

The Only Girl in the World, by Maude Julien

only-girl-in-the-world
Photo by Amazon.com

When Maude Julien was young, her parents kept her isolated from the world in a abusive attempt to eliminate any weakness, forcing her to endure drills like holding onto an electric fence for minutes or sitting alone in a rat-infested basement. In this terrifying true-life story, Julien details what it was like growing up in isolation from the outside world,and her eventual road to escape from her parents’ prison of paranoia. This true and heartbreaking memoir is perfect for fans of Emma Donoghue’s Room.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available December 12.



4

The Joy of Doing Nothing, by Rachel Jonat

joy-of-doing-nothing
Photo by Amazon.com

We spend so much of our lives planning our time with others, managing schedules and trying to squeeze absolutely everything in, but what if the key to happiness is actually doing less? In this simple guide, Jonat gives readers tips on how to start carving out time for yourself in a busy schedule, so you can focus on your own well being and happiness in 2018.

To buy: $15; amazon.com.
Available December 5.


5

Anyone Who’s Anyone, by George Wayne

anyone-whos-anyone
Photo by Amazon.com

After spending more than 20 years of his career interviewing the who’s who of Hollywood, George Wayne has a few stories to tell. This delightful collection is a selection of his most notable conversations, including those with icons like Farrah Fawcett and Kate Moss, each highlighted and annotated by Wayne with his memories and thoughts about each subject.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available December 5.


6

Enchantress of Numbers, by Jennifer Chiaverini

enchantress-of-numbers
Photo by Amazon.com

Enchantress of Numbers imagines the life of Ada King, countess of Lovelace, known today as the world’s first computer programmer. In this fascinating homage, Jennifer Chiaverini traces not only King’s professional accomplishments but also the romance and family drama that tainted her personal life.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available December 5.



7

One Station Away, by Olaf Olafsson

one-station-away
Photo by HarperCollins Publishers

In One Station Away, readers meet Magnus Colin, an accomplished neurologist, through the eyes of three women: his paralyzed patient, his famous pianist mother, and his late fiancée. Icelandic author Olaf Olafsson’s emotional novel takes Magnus around the globe as he searches for a way to heal his patients—and himself.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available December 5.


8

We'll Sleep When We're Old, by Pino Corrias

well-sleep-corrias
Photo by Simon & Schuster

When successful Italian film producer Oscar Martello goes missing after a fire destroys his glamorous villa, Rome is left in shock. Was the first set by his beautiful muse, his best friend, or someone else altogether? In his heart-pounding novel, Pino Corrias explores the dark secrets of the city’s elite.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available December 12.


9

Why You Eat What You Eat, by Rachel Herz

why-you-eat-what-you-eat
Photo by W. W. Norton & Company

Why is the first bite of blueberry pie more delicious than the last? And why are shoppers with reusable bags often more likely to treat themselves? In Why You Eat What You Eat, neuroscientist Rachel Herz, PhD, dives into how we interact with what’s on our plate. Readers will take away fun facts along with useful tips to curb cravings and eat smarter.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available December 26.



10

No Time to Spare, by Ursula K. Le Guin

no-time-to-spare
Photo by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

In No Time to Spare, National Book Award winner Ursula K. Le Guin reflects on her lifetime of experiences. This collection of essays, originally published on LeGuin’s blog from 2010 to 2015, touches on her feelings about everything from feminism to swear words in fiction. Each entry is filled with warmth, insight, and humor.

To buy: $15; amazon.com.
Available December 5.