The Best New Books to Read This Month

Whether you’re looking for a captivating novel, a fascinating investigation, or a poignant memoir, November has something for everyone. Here are 10 new releases that caught our eye this month.

1

The Revolution of Marina M., by Janet Fitch

revolution-marina-m-fitch
Photo by amazon.com

This epic tale from the bestselling author of White Oleander follows Marina Makarova, a young woman living in St. Petersburg at the start of the Russian Revolution in 1916. Looking to escape from her privileged life, she joins the marches for worker’s rights—and finds herself falling in love with the movement and a young radical. In this relatable coming-of-age novel, Marina grapples with a changing world and struggles to find her place in it.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available November 7.


2

The Wine Lover’s Daughter, by Anne Fadiman

wine-lovers-daughter-fadiman
Photo by amazon.com

In this touching memoir, readers are introduced to Clifton Fadiman, a writer, radio host, and wine lover, through the eyes of his writer daughter. Fadiman traces her father’s life through his youth in Brooklyn, to his rise as a book critic in Manhattan, but shows that the one thing that stayed constant in his life was his love for wine. Perfect for both fans of Fadiman and those unfamiliar with his work, this heartwarming story interweaves family memories with fascinating details about French wine.

To buy: $15; amazon.com.
Available November 7.


3

Strangers in Budapest, by Jessica Keener

strangers-budapest-jessica-keener
Photo by amazon.com

When Annie and Will, an American couple from Boston, start their lives over in Budapest after the fall of Communism, they find themselves tied up with Edward Weiss, a Jewish-American WWII veteran plotting revenge on the man who murdered his daughter. Full of seduction and intrigue, this thrilling novel is a perfect homage to a city in transition. 

To buy: $18; amazon.com.
Available November 14.



4

Heather, the Totality, by Matthew Weiner

heather-totality-matthew-weiner
Photo by amazon.com

In this novella, from the creator of Mad Men, readers meet the Breakstones, a wealthy family whose lives revolve around their beautiful, gifted daughter, Heather. But when Bobby, a construction worker working on a project in the family’s Manhattan high-rise, takes a particular interest in Heather, it threatens to undermine the Breakstones’ lives. Weiner showcases his direct, sharp style and touches on class divides and parental fears.

To buy: $22; amazon.com.
Available November 7.


5

The Hygge Life, by Gunnar Karl Gislason and Jody Eddy

hygge-life-gislason-eddy
Photo by amazon.com

Whether it’s hygge, lykke, or lagom, Americans are obsessed with the seemingly laid-back and cozy lives of Scandinavians. In this accessible part-cookbook/part-lifestyle guide, readers will learn to better understand what hygge is and how they can incorporate its cozy principles and gestures into their lives.

To buy: $15; amazon.com.
Available November 14.


6

Where the Wild Coffee Grows, by Jeff Koehler

wild-coffee-grows-jeff-koehler
Photo by amazon.com

For most people, the only way to start the day is with a strong cup of coffee, but many of us don’t know about the complicated processes that make our caffeine jolt possible. In this fascinating investigation, Koehler takes readers from Ethiopia to Latin America and outlines the crises (from disease to climate change) that threaten coffee beans. Readers will walk away with a better understanding of how a local crop transformed to an essential global commodity.

To buy: $19; amazon.com.
Available November 14.



7

Prairie Fires, by Caroline Fraser

prairie-fires-caroline-fraser
Photo by amazon.com

Nearly 90 years after the release of the first Little House on the Prairie books, Fraser gives fans the first in-depth look at the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder. While many believe the Wilder family lived a simple life out west, they faced much grittier hardships than Wilder described in her popular autobiographies. Fans of both the show and the books will delight in this fascinating study on one of the most treasured families in literary history.

To buy: $22; amazon.com.
Available November 21.


8

Bonfire, by Krysten Ritter

bonfire-krystin-ritter
Photo by amazon.com

Actress Krysten Ritter is best known for her role as Jessica Jones in the Marvel series of the same name, but fans will be introduced to a new side of her as a writer. In her debut novel, Ritter introduces readers to Abby Williams, a woman who spent a decade trying to forget about her past by building a new one as an environmental lawyer in Chicago. But when a case brings her back to the town she left behind, she unearths secrets that she could have never imagined. Full of unexpected twists and turns, this gritty thriller is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn.

To buy: $17; amazon.com.
Available November 7.


9

Artemis, by Andy Weir

artemis-andy-weir
Photo by amazon.com

The bestselling author of The Martian is back with another novel that explores life beyond Earth. In Weir’s new world, Jazz Bashara, a porter who is forced to commit petty crimes in order to make ends meet, is living in Artemis, the first civilized city on the moon. When she finds herself tied up in a struggle for control of the city, the world she lives in on this otherworldly planet turns upside down. With his signature scientific style, Weir creates a realistic imagining of what life on the moon could really be like.

To buy: $16; amazon.com.
Available November 14.



10

Perennials, by Julie Cantrell

perennials-julie-cantrell
Photo by amazon.com

Sisters Lovey and Bitsy Southerland have a long history of conflict. At 18, Lovey escapes from her family and severes ties with her sister altogether. But 20 years later, she returns home for her parents’ 50th anniversary and is reconnected with the person she has she tried so hard to leave behind. This touching novel is a moving story of the bonds that connect us to family.

To buy: $10; amazon.com.
Available November 14.