That basic hanging in your closet is more versatile than you think.

Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
Advertisement
Dyad Photography

Start With the Skirt…

To buy: Lulus Like a Phenomenon pleated midi skirt, $49; lulus.com.

... Add Heels and a Sleeveless Sweater
Sleek pumps and a knit shell help this seasonless staple make the jump from winter to spring a breeze.

To buy: Coldwater Creek sleeveless classic turtleneck, $50; coldwatercreek.com. Morning Lavender Camila belt, $16; morninglavender.com. Hart topknot earrings, $58; harthagerty.com. French Connection open cuff, $44; usa.frenchconnection.com. Lulu Dharma tassel tote, $135; luludharma.com. Steve Madden Daisie pumps, $90; stevemadden.com.

Dyad Photography

... Add a Printed Peasant Top

Tuck in a loose, gauzy blouse and add a bag with vintage appeal for a boho-chic twist on the ladylike skirt.

To buy: LC Lauren Conrad peasant top, $44; kohls.com. Real Simple Style Cordella earrings, $28; realsimplestyle.com. Complét Gaia micro bag, $375; shopbop.com. Cole Haan Laree open toe mules, $150; colehaan.com.

Dyad Photography

... Add Sneakers and a Sweatshirt

Casual basics with subtle twists—a ruffled sleeve, a metallic stripe—help you look both pulled together and laid-back.

To buy: Entourage Clothing Wander Freely top, $24; entourageclothing.com. Jill Jill Stuart moto jacket, $159; macys.com. Adia Kibur 3D metal cuff, $42; adiakibur.com. Iris & Ink sneakers, $115; theoutnet.com.